Women Candidates

In the last election, former Liberal Leader Michael Ignatieff had made a  public commitment to field a minimum of 33% female candidates.

The single biggest challenge in electing more women seems to be getting them nominated. We know from past elections that women, once nominated, are as likely to be elected as male candidates. Given a chance to do so, electors apparently are as happy to choose a woman as a man. But they don’t get that choice if women’s names are not on the ballot.

We are taking a proactive approach to ensure there are more women on the ballot in the next election. We have a large scale effort underway to recruit, empower and encourage women candidates. We are committed to ensuring that we reach our target of 33% women candidates in the next federal election.

To learn more about the number of women elected to Canada’s parliament, click here

Candidate Riding
Roma Ahi Vancouver East / Vancouver Est
Carolyn Bennett St. Paul’s
Alyssa Brierley Burlington
Marie Bountrogianni Hamilton Mountain
Julie Bourgeois   Glengarry—Prescott—Russell
Nancy Charest Haute-Gaspésie—La Mitis—Matane—Matapédia
Lorraine Chartier Beauport—Limoilou
Bernadette Clement Stormont—Dundas—South Glengarry
Siobhan Coady St. John’s South—Mount Pearl / St. John’s-Sud—Mount Pearl
Bonnie Crombie Mississauga—Streetsville
Rebecca Darnell Langley
Ruby Dhalla Brampton—Springdale
Kirsty Duncan Etobicoke North / Etobicoke-Nord
Cindy Duncan-McMillan Pontiac
Noushig Eloyan Ahuntsic
Judy Foote Random—Burin—St. George’s
Janna Francis Okanagan—Shuswap
Hedy Fry Vancouver Centre / Vancouver-Centre
Anne Gagné Québec
Francine Gaudet Berthier—Maskinongé
Martha Hall Findlay Willowdale
Carol Hartman Sudbury
Renée Hetherington Saanich—Gulf Islands
Bev Hodgson Niagara Falls
Christine Innes Trinity—Spadina
Marlene Jennings Notre-Dame-de-Grâce—Lachine
Marlene Lamontagne Calgary Southwest / Calgary-Sud-Ouest
Nicole Larouche Lotbinière—Chutes-de-la-Chaudière
Connie Laurin-Bowie Halton
Kimberley Love Bruce—Grey—Owen Sound
Marjory Loveys Leeds—Grenville
Monica Lysack Regina—Lumsden—Lake Centre
Mary MacDonald Edmonton Centre / Edmonton-Centre
Karen McCrimmon Carleton—Mississippi Mills
Betsy McGregor Peterborough
Alexandra Mendès Brossard—La Prairie
Jacqueline Miller Regina—Qu’Appelle
Maria Minna Beaches—East York
Karen Mock Thornhill
Joyce Murray Vancouver Quadra
Eva Nassif Laval
Anita Neville Winnipeg South Centre / Winnipeg-Centre-Sud
Ilona Niemczyk Elmwood—Transcona
Lyne Pelchat Vaudreuil-Soulanges
Chantal Perreault Repentigny
Josipa Petrunic Calgary East / Calgary-Est
Yasmin Ratansi Don Valley East / Don Valley-Est
Karen Redman Kitchener Centre / Kitchener-Centre
Kim Rudd Northumberland—Quinte West
Carolyn Scott Sackville Eastern Shore
Judy Sgro York West / York-Ouest
Michelle Simson Scarborough Southwest / Scarborough-Sud-Ouest
Roxane Stanners Saint-Lambert
Michelle Stockwell Hamilton East—Stoney Creek / Hamilton-Est—Stoney Creek
Gayle Stucke Lambton—Kent—Middlesex
Lillian Szpak Esquimalt – Juan de Fuca
Christine Tabbert Renfrew—Nipissing—Pembroke
Anne Tennier Hamilton Centre
Anita Vandenbeld Ottawa West—Nepean / Ottawa-Ouest—Nepean
Bianka Villeneuve Jonquière—Alma
Cindy Waters Parry Sound—Muskoka
Linda Wilhelm Fundy Royal
Kelly Wilson New Brunswick Southwest / Nouveau-Brunswick-Sud-Ouest
Marilyn Wood Timmins—James Bay / Timmins—Baie James
Wendy Yuan Vancouver Kingsway
Lise Zarac LaSalle—Émard
Patricia Zipchen Saskatoon—Wanuskewin